Bye Bye Google+ a waste of pixels

I am a typical early adopter: I love to try new technology, ideas and innovations. I also love Google products: it’s my backoffice and I’m into it all – mail, calendar, docs, reader etc etc. I was therefore an early adopter of the Google+ social networking in the initial “invite only” phase.

But today I have deleted that paret of my Googlelife, simply because it offered nothing new, nothing better than what the Facebook/Twitter combination could give me. I never went to the Google+ pages, I never read G+ postings and apart from the annoying “X [whom I have never heard of has added you to their circles” email, it was off my radar: a waste of pixels.

I never really conceptualised the “circles” idea – it just seemed to be a new way of categorising people into groups which avoided someone’s intellectual property, and so therefore was not really that useful. It wasn’t helpful at all, and so I have removed just the Google+ section of my Googlelife.

If you want to do the same, but like me need/want/rely on the rest of the (working) Google stuff, then do this:

To downgrade your Google+ profile:

  1. Sign in to Google+ .
  2. Click your full name or email address in the Google bar.
  3. Click Account settings.
  4. Click the Account overview tab.
  5. Click Delete profile and remove associated social features.

Done!